Author Archives: Dhi Good

Live Meetings in 2017

Please mark your calendar for the live sessions with Acharya Chapman on Saturday, Feb. 18 and April 15 at 2pm Atlantic / 10am Pacific. We’ll be meeting at this Zoom link:
https://zoom.us/j/3035218142

Interested in Additional Meetings?

We can have additional live sessions for those who want to gather for a short reading and discussion. Please post your interest in the Discussion area or contact your course facilitator, Dhi Good, at director@shambhalaonline.org to arrange a meeting.

About Zoom

If you need to join by phone, please email director@shambhalaonline.com for the information. If you’re new to Zoom, when you click on the meeting link above, you’ll be asked to download the Zoom application. Go ahead and do that, then simply click on the link again. The app runs in the background; you do not need to open the application.

Dec. 17 Recording

Here is the recording from our live session on December 17, 2016

By Rameshng (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsDo you need a study partner?

You can use the discussion board to invite others to meet for study sessions. If a roster of course participants would be helpful, please let me know.

 

Oct. 22 Recording

The recording of our discussion with Acharya Chapman on October 22 can be viewed below.

The next live meeting is set for December 17. We’ll send out a reminder with the link before then.

Shambhala Monastic Order


Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche established the Shambhala Monastic Order in 2013, bringing together the lineage of monastic ordination from the Buddha with the Shambhala teachings and vision of enlightened society.  At that time the Sakyong said:

“The Shambhala Monastic Order provides a deep training ground of bravery by leaning into the world, not withdrawing. This path will be a noble pursuit, and those who wish to follow it should be welcomed and supported in this profound intention.”

In the video above, Ani Pema Chödrön and Shastri Loden Nyima discuss the Order and 9-12 month monastic residencies at Gampo Abbey exploring the Four Dignities of the Shambhala path. The residencies offer a unique experience for those seeking to spend a period of their lives temporarily ordained and immersed in the dharma.

Applications are now being accepted for residencies beginning in January 2017. Detailed information about prerequisites, cost, and applications can be found here.

The Abbey is also currently seeking its next Director and a General Manager.  If you are inspired to help manifest this vision, you can learn more and apply here (http://gampoabbey.org/volunteer-and-staff-positions-open-at-gampo-abbey/)

If you have additional questions, please contact Shastri Loden Nyima, Monastic Secretary to Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche at loden.nyima@gmail.com

Live Session on Sat., July 16

connect
The pre-ESA Meeting with Acharyas Rosenthal and McLellan is set for this Saturday, July 16, at 2pm Atlantic (that’s 1pm Eastern, 9am Pacific). Please plan to attend if you can. It will be recorded for those who cannot make the live meeting. The meeting is on Zoom at this link:

https://zoom.us/j/413146714

Please Note:
If you have not used Zoom before, you’ll be prompted to download the Zoom application. Please do so, then click on the meeting link again: https://zoom.us/j/413146714

It is not necessary to find or open the Zoom app. Simply click on that link to join the meeting.

If you have any technical difficulties, please contact John MacAdams at live@shambhalaonline.org or Pawel Molenda at webmaster@shambhalaonline.org

Live Q&A with Ashe Acharya Rockwell on Sat. May 7

Please join us for a live Q&A session with Ashe Acharya John Rockwell on May 7, 2016 at 2pm Atlantic / 1pm Eastern / Noon Central / 11am Mountain / 10am Pacific / 7pm Central Europe. If you cannot attend the live meeting, you’ll be able to see the recording at this link, by May 8.

trungpa-calligraphy231wide
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android –  Meeting Link: https://zoom.us/j/385595231
Or iPhone one-tap:  14086380968,385595231# or 16465588656,385595231#
Or Telephone:
    Dial: +1 408 638 0968 (US Toll) or +1 646 558 8656 (US Toll)
    Meeting ID: 385 595 231
    International numbers available here:

Live Meetings Using Zoom 

We use Zoom for live gatherings. If you haven’t used Zoom before, when you first click the Meeting Link you’ll be prompted to download the Zoom application. Please permit this to happen. There’s no need to open or launch Zoom; just download it, then come back to this message and click on the Meeting Link again.

Tips. Once in the Zoom meeting, you can switch from Gallery View to Speaker View in the upper right corner. There’s a chat function and other easy-to-use tools across the bottom of the Zoom window. For more info: Using Zoom on your computer or on your mobile device.

Recording of Discussion with Acharya Greenleaf

We had a good turn out and a very interesting discussion on Saturday, April 9, with Acharya Greenleaf. Besides the werma practice, we talked about sangha, the masculine/feminine principles, visualization and more. To see the recording, click on the title of this post.

The recording is below. It’s just under 90 minutes in length. To watch in full-screen mode, click on the 4-arrow symbol at the bottom of the video screen.

To get back to the course, click here.