A Year of Deepening in Compassion Part I: The Four Limitless Ones

Shambhala_Online/lotus250x334.png
Date: Sunday, February 10, 2019 (14:00 -00:00)
Sunday, April 21, 2019 (14:00 -00:00)
Price per person: $108
Patron Price: $149
Price for Centers: $300
Price for Groups: $200


A Year of Deepening in Compassion

The path of the Bodhisattva Warrior begins with developing affection for ourselves and expands this to others, dissolving the barriers that divide us. To support this practice, the Shambhala Acharyas have offered to lead the community in a year long series of talks, contemplative and meditation practices from the Buddhist Mahayana teachings of our lineage.

Through Shambhala Online, these talks will begin on February 10th and conclude January 2020. Throughout the year, the main practice is tonglen, which will be taught by Ani Pema Chodron with both a guided meditation and an audio talk that will be posted on the home page for the course. Additionally, live online talks by acharyas will introduce and support other practices of the Mahayana. 

The year’s teachings are divided into four seasonal themes. Every three months a new course will begin but the program will be continuous. Within each season, acharyas will be offering talks that relate to that topic with their own personal approach. There will be one online discussion forum for each season.

The themes for the four seasons echo the virtues of the Four Dignities of the Shambhala Path.

February 10 - April 21: Tiger, friendly to self and merciful to others: The Four Immeasurables

May 5 - July 14: Lion, joy of discipline: The Six Paramitas 

July 28 - October 6: Garuda, space beyond hope and fear: Heart Sutra and Sunyata

October 20 - January 19: Dragon, compassionate engagement: Lojong, mind training

Part 1


The Four Limitless Ones, is the first course of the four-part series exploring the Shambhala Mahayana teachings. This course includes Tonglen instruction and an audio talk by Acharya Pema Chodron and an introduction to The Four Limitless Ones. It also includes:

  • Five live classes with an Acharya with an opportunity for Q&A.
  • The classes will be recorded, and each will be led by a different Acharya.
  • Access to the recordings will be available in the course if you miss a session.
  • A live discussion led by the Acharyas. Live discussions are not recorded.
  • Readings and book suggestions to deepen our understanding of these teachings
  • Contemplations to help us integrate these fundamental teachings into our daily lives
  • A discussion forum.

Schedule for Live Sessions and Course Outline (all Sundays)

February 10 - Shamatha and Maitri: Establishing the Foundations for our Mahayana Journey

February 24 - Equanimity

March 10 - Loving Kindness

March 24 - Compassion

April 7 - Live Discussion led by the Acharyas

April 21 - Sympathetic Joy and Course Conclusion


Meeting times: 10am PST / 11am MST /12pm CST / 1pm EST / 2pm AST / 7pm CE

 

Registration Options

  • Individual rate: The regular course rate is $108.
  • Center and Group rates: $300 Centers, $200 Groups
  • Patrons: The Patron rate of $149 supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need.

Package Discount (includes all four courses):

* * * * *

Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Log in and click on the Request a Discount link below before registering to receive a coupon code to use at checkout. For a further discount or scholarship, write to r[email protected].


Click here for our Refund Policy.


Questions? Write to [email protected].

PLEASE NOTE: Prices are in US Dollars . Request a discount before you register to allow for exchange rates or other discounts.

Request a discount