Ashe Mahamudra Advanced Study Course - 2020

Date: Saturday, February 15, 2020
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Teachers : Ashe Acharya John Rockwell & Acharya Susan Chapman
Price per person: $149
Patron Price: $199

Participants will have ongoing access to six talks on the Ashe Mahamudra text. This course is offered to support individual and group practice. Talks include teachings on the Shambhala dzokchen path of Ashe and the four dignities as well as the Mahamudra vipashyana investigations into the nature of mind. Since the nature of mind is the basis of all vajrayana practices, whether we directly experience the body, perceptions, thoughts, emotions, or awareness, all transmissions agree at one point—liberation on the spot.

The suggested format is viewing one talk each month. With each talk, readings and practice guidelines are offered for the following month of practice and study. Course participants may use the online course environment to participate in the discussion forums, review the talks and follow study guidelines.  

Prerequisite: Lung for Ashe Mahamudra practice.

PLEASE NOTE: There will be a live lung with Acharya Rockwell, offered for those who haven't yet received it. The lung will take place on Sunday, February 16 at the following times: 10:00am Pacific, 11:00am Mountain, 12:00pm Central, 1:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Atlantic, 6:00pm GMT, 7:00pm Central Europe.

  •  Ashe Acharya Rockwell, Transmission of Ashe
  •  Acharya Chapman, Tiger: All appearances are mind
  •  Ashe Acharya Rockwell, Lion: Mind is empty
  •  Acharya Chapman, Garuda: Emptiness is luminosity
  •  Ashe Acharya Rockwell, Dragon: Luminosity is spontaneous presence 
  •  Acharya Chapman, Ziji: Primordial confidence

About the Teachers

Ashe Acharya John Rockwell has been a student of Buddhism and the Shambhala teachings for 30 years. He was professor of Buddhist Studies at the Naropa Institute for 12 years, co-director of Karmê Chöling Meditation Center for 4 years, and Director of Shambhala International for 5 years. He is a member of the Nalanda Translation Committee, which translates Buddhist texts and liturgies into English. In 1996, he was appointed by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche to be an acharya (senior teacher) for the Shambhala community, and in 2001, he became the Ashe Acharya, in charge of the International Office of Practice and Education. After living at Karmê Chöling as the Resident Acharya, he now lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

 

Acharya Susan Chapman joined Shambhala in 1974. In addition to practicing and studying the dharma, she received an MA degree in Contemplative Psychology at Naropa in 1983. She moved from Boulder to Juneau in 1988, where she started the Shambhala Centre there. Later, with her husband Jerry, she spent nine years at Gampo Abbey, completing the three year retreat and spending six years as the druppon, or leader, for the three year retreat program. She now lives in the Vancouver, BC, area and teaches extensively as an acharya and as faculty for Karuna Training. She is the author of The Five Keys To Mindful Communication.

 

About Our Courses

The Shambhala Online Advanced Studies courses are designed to support vajrayana practitioners as they develop their practice and deepen their understanding between major programs. Each course features a senior Shambhala teacher and interaction with an online community. Participants view recorded talks, then gather in the online learning environment to discuss, contemplate and engage in exercises. 

Hallmarks of the advanced studies courses are discussion forums and dialogues where participants work together to reveal each other's inherent wisdom. Course participants are encouraged to bring the teachings into their daily lives, homes, workplaces and communities to create enlightened society on the spot.

When Does the Class Meet?

Acharya Rockwell and Acharya Chapman offer recorded talks to be viewed at your own convenience. 

How Much Time Does it Take?

Most participants spend 1 to 2 hours per week on the course. The talks average 45 minutes in length. Allow yourself time to do the readings, practices and other assignments. It’s a good idea to schedule the time on your calendar as you would for a face-to-face class.

Registration Options

Regular Amount. The regular course rate is $149 per person.

Patron. The Patron rate of $199 supports our efforts to extend generosity support to those in need.

Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Click on the Request a Discount link before you register, to receive a discount code to use at checkout. For a further discount, write to [email protected].

Prerequisite: The lung for Ashe Mahamudra. Please indicate the program at which you received the lung in the Comment section of registration. For example, if you got it at Sacred World Assembly: SWA, DCL, 2017. 

Click here for our Refund Policy.

Please log in to check your authorization