Living with Resilience: How to Become Gentle and Tough (OE)

Shambhala_Online/Fleet_Maulll.png
Teacher : Acharya Fleet Maull
Price per person: $108
Patron Price: $149
Price for Centers: $449
Price for Groups: $349

NOTE: This course opened March 28. Registration will be available for several more weeks.

 

Living with Resilience: How to Become Gentle and Tough

Meeting the demands of modern life in an increasingly complex world has been challenging for some time. Currently, however, we are beginning to experience a phenomenon called hyper-complexity driven by technology, overpopulation and a looming climate emergency, which could greatly destabilize our already fragile and unsustainable systems.

Rampant materialism, consumerism and individualism are not only creating an existential, environmental threat, but they are also tearing the very fabric of society and provoking dangerous levels of political divisiveness and economic disruption.  How are we to survive much less thrive in these uncertain times?

Click here to view Acharya Fleet Maull's video message about this course!

In this course, we will explore strategies for increasing our reservoirs of resilience through a deeply embodied approach to mindfulness-awareness practices and mindful presence in daily living by actualizing our innate capacity for interoceptive awareness.
 
The course consists of five pre-recorded talks and two live meetings via Zoom. It also includes guided meditations, contemplations and suggested readings.
 
Live sessions are scheduled for Saturday, April 18 and Saturday, May 9 at the following times:
11:00am Pacific / 12:00pm Mountain / 1:00pm Central /2:00pm Eastern / 3:00pm (Atlantic) / 18:00 (UK) / 19:00 (Central Europe)

..............................


COURSE OUTLINE

Talk 1: The Challenge: Why We Need Deep Reservoirs of Resilience

  • Modern life: Materialism, Individualism, Consumerism, Speed, Aggression
  • Social Media & Breakdowns in social cohesion
  • Hyper Complexity – Causes & Conditions – Macro Economic/Cultural Forces
  • Climate Emergency & Social, Economic, Political Disruption
  • Possibilities of Collapse & Extinction

Talk 2:  Ownership in Service of Self-Empowerment & Resilience

  • Pain/Shame Body Identities
  • Radical Responsibility: Ownership vs. Blame
  • Empowerment Zone vs. Drama Zone
  • Shambhala Warriorship: Bravery vs. Cowardice

Talk 3:  Deep Embodiment: Mindfulness & Interoceptive Awareness

  • Mindfulness of Body
  • Interoceptive Awareness
  • Presence and Nondual Being
  • Internal Resonance Supports Healing and Resilience

Talk 4: Heart-Centered - Intersubjective Awareness

  • Shifting Locus of Perception from the Head to the Heart
  • Vulnerability and Presencing Others
  • Symbiosis of Interoceptive and Intersubjective Awareness 
  • Heart-Mind of Interbeing and Social Resilience

Talk 5:  Earth Conscious Living & Cycle of Resilience

  • Reconnecting with Earth through the Body
  • Reconnecting with Earth through the Heart
  • Joining Heaven and Earth
  • Shambhala Heart Warriors Protecting the Earth
  • Taking Action - Shame and Blame Free Individual & Collective Action
About the Teacher
 
Acharya Fleet Maull, PhD has been a Shambhala practitioner for more than 40 years and was named an acharya in 2009. He leads Shambhala programs and retreats throughout North America, Europe and Latin America. Fleet is also a Roshi (senior lineage teacher) in the Zen Peacemaker and Soto Zen lineages. He is a consultant, executive coach, an internationally renowned social activist and founder of numerous engaged organizations including Prison Mindfulness Institute, Engaged Mindfulness Institute, Center for Mindfulness in Public Safety and the National Prison Hospice Association. He is the author of Dharma in Hell, The Prison Writings of Fleet Maull and Radical Responsibility: How to Move Beyond Blame, Fearlessly Live Your Highest Purpose and Become an Unstoppable Force for Good.

Registration Options

Individual: $108.

Patron: $149. This rate helps our efforts to extend generosity support to those in need.

Centers: $449. Groups: $349. (Please use your Center or Group account to register. Follow these instructions if you need to create an account.)

Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Click on the Request a Discount link before you register, to receive a discount code to use at checkout. For a further discount or scholarship, write to [email protected].

Click here for our Refund Policy.

PLEASE NOTE: Prices are in US Dollars . Request a discount before you register to allow for exchange rates or other discounts.

Request a discount