A Space for Sharing Collective Grief during the Racism Pandemic

Shambhala_Online/7A697533-3BCF-4FD5-A62E-058DC190740E.jpeg
Date: Tuesday, June 9, 2020 (20:00 -22:00)
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 (11:37 -12:37)

The atrocity of centuries old social injustice, uncovered by the pandemic, comes to a head with the recent killing of George Floyd. Change is everywhere. What we each experience differs, based largely on our personal and social location in society. We are being called to look deeply into our interconnection. Opening to whatever we are feeling, we can experience our inherent tenderness, the gateway to vast possibility and lasting action.

Tuesday, June 9th, we come together in collective grief around systemic racism and police brutality.

Everyone is invited to join in an 80-minute session of practice, honoring our feelings, and speaking from the heart in small groups. We will begin with opening remarks and a guided practice, led by Acharyas Charlene Leung & Holly Gayley. After that, we will break into caucuses for BIPOC-identified (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) and white-identified people to share and speak from the heart in small breakout groups. We will end by coming back together as a whole to do practice and dedicate the merit. If you are not familiar with the process of caucusing, you can read more about it in two excellent articles by Kelsey Blackwell and Alex Vlasic on The Arrow Journal.  This gathering will also be facilitated by Acharyas Gaylon Ferguson and Emily Bower.

The gathering is scheduled for Tuesday the 9th, the day of George Floyd's funeral, at 5pm Pacific, 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern, and 9pm Atlantic. 

The Zoom link will be sent closer to the date.

This Event is Free of Charge

PLEASE NOTE: Prices are in US Dollars . Request a discount before you register to allow for exchange rates or other discounts.

Request a discount