Melting the Ice and Getting Unstuck: Talks On 'The 37 Practices of a Bodhisattva'

symbols/buddhasface_230x165.jpg
Date: Sunday, March 14, 2021
Saturday, April 3, 2021
Saturday, April 24, 2021
Teacher : Acharya Mathias Pongracz
Price per person: $108
Patron Price: $149
Price for Centers: $399
Price for Groups: $299

 

Melting the Ice and Getting Unstuck: Talks On "The 37 Practices of a Bodhisattva"

with Acharya Mathias Pongracz

Five Live Talks on the following dates: (These will be recorded and available within the course.)

  • Sunday, February 7
  • Saturday, Feb 27
  • Sunday, March 14
  • Saturday, April 3
  • Saturday, April 24

Times: 10:30 am (Pacific) /11:30 am (Mountain) / 12:30 pm (Central) /1:30 pm (Eastern) / 2:30 pm (Atlantic)/ 18:30 (UK) / 19:30 (CET)

This course is open to all. Registration is open until March 15, 2021. 

Course Summary

In times of pandemic, worldwide environmental destruction, and social disintegration, one can easily be overcome by feelings of disconnection, helplessness, resignation, and paralysis.

The text entitled The Thirty-Seven Practices of a Bodhisattva, by the 14th-century monk Ngulchu Thogme Sangpo, provides clear insights on how to work with such challenges and turn around seemingly intractable situations. It points to the skillful means that bring us the strength of heart to work with difficult circumstances while being of benefit to others.

Talk 1: When nothing works anymore: turning around // The story of Ngulchu Thokme Zangpo 

Talk 2: Setting out to travel: what to take with us -- preparations & provisions

Talk 3: Map and compass for travel: what to leave behind- the means of actual travel and progress

Talk 4: How to make use of loss, suffering, disgrace and other obstacles 

Talk 5:  Signposts left behind by an old monk -- making sure we don't go astray

Each live session will include a 30 to 40-minute talk, and 30 to 45 minutes for exchange and discussion. Part of each session will also be dedicated to guided exercises and meditations.

Free Downloads

Here are 2 good translations:

1) Ken McLeod’s translation on his website: unfettered mind:

https://unfetteredmind.org/37-practices-of-a-bodhisattva/

2) The Lotsawa House translation:

https://www.lotsawahouse.org/tibetan-masters/gyalse-thogme-zangpo/37-practices-all-bodhisattvas

Readings will be chosen from:

  1. The Heart of Compassion by Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche. Or in French: "Au coeur de la compassion", editions Padmakara 2008
  2. Reflections on Silver River by Ken McLeod 
  3. The 37 Practices of Bodhisattva: Commentary By Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche (which can also be downloaded for free.)

Study questions will be provided, to give the opportunity to reflect on the contents of each talks.

About the Teacher

 

Acharya Mathias Pongracz has been a student of both the Vidyadhara Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche (since 1983) and Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche (since 1991), as well as student of Kobun Chino Roshi. He teaches in Austria, Hungary and France.

 

 

 

Registration Options

  • Individual: $108.
  • Patron: $149. The Patron rate supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need
  • Centers: $399. Groups: $299 (Please register with your Shambhala account. See instructions here.)

Generosity Policy. For a 25% discount, click on Request a discount below, or select the "pay-what-you-can-afford" option when you register.

PLEASE NOTE: Prices are in US Dollars . Request a discount before you register to allow for exchange rates or other discounts.

Request a discount