Embodying Peace Together: The Path of Tonglen - All Sessions

Miksang/Lotus.png
Date: Monday, September 26, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Thursday, September 29, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Friday, September 30, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Saturday, October 1, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)
Sunday, October 2, 2022 (12:00 -13:00)

Monday, September 26 - Sunday, October 2, 2022
12:00pm - 1:00pm Eastern Time

 

 

 

About This Series...

Tonglen is a Tibetan Buddhist meditation practice that is known as “sending and receiving.” On the inhale, you take in the pain and suffering of yourself and others, and on the exhale you give space, compassion and healing to yourself and others. It is a beautiful practice and a powerful way to collectively “embody peace” as we mark the moment of Harvest of Peace - one of Shambhala’s main seasonal celebrations. Tonglen practice instruction will be given every day, so beginners are welcome!

 

 

This meditation practice is designed to help ordinary people like ourselves connect with the openness and softness of our hearts. - Ani Pema Chodron

 

Daily Schedule

Monday, September 26 - Sunday, October 2, 2022
(All sessions begin at 12:00pm Easter Time) 

Each day, the guided tonglen practice will focus on a different theme and each hour long session will have a similar format:

  • 5 minutes Welcome and opening remarks
  • 10 minutes Embodiment practice led by Erika Berland
  • 20 minutes Short talk about tonglen practice and particular theme of the day
  • 10 minutes Tonglen practice
  • 10 minutes Sharing and discussion
  • 5 minutes Closing remarks
  • 30 minutes Optional discussion period for those who wish to stay longer

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2022-07-01 at 10.27.46 AM


Monday, Sept 26  12:00 p.m. Eastern 

Session Leader: Jeff Scott

Introduction to Tonglen

Register Here

 

 

 

DBollini
Tuesday, Sept 27 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Daniele Bollini

Tonglen for Self, Loved ones and Friends

Register Here

 

 


Wednesday, Sept 28 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Tillie Perks

Generating Compassion for “Neutrals” and “Enemies”

Register Here

 


Thursday, Sept 29 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Christine Heming

Softening to Polarization & Divisiveness Through Tonglen

Register Here

 


Friday, Sept 30 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Roger Guest

Tonglen Practice, Death, and Ultimate Bodhicitta

Register Here

 


Saturday, Oct 1 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Sara Demetry

Tonglen & Covid and Physical Illness

Register Here

 


Sunday, Oct 2 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern

Session Leader: Alfonso Taboada

Connecting to Care for the Environment Through Tonglen

Register Here