Event: Loving-kindness and Compassion – Heart Medicine for Difficult Times

>>> See the event details and register here >>>

 
Loving-kindness and Compassion – Heart Medicine for Difficult Times
with Acharya Barbara Märtens
 
Saturday, July 18 
Times:
Europe: 19:00 (UK) / 20:00 (Central Europe)
North America:  11:00 am (Pacific) / 12:00/noon (Mountain) / 1pm (Central and Mexico City) / 2pm (Eastern) / 3pm (Atlantic)
South America: 2pm (Chile) / 3pm (Sao Paulo) 
 
Hosted by the Shambhala Iberian Region
 
The talk will be given in English, with simultaneous interpretation in Spanish and possibly more languages.
 
In these last few months, our world has been in upheaval at both a societal and a personal level. Just as the soil is plowed and loosened in springtime, so have our heart and mind been jolted and unsettled as a result of these difficult times. Our familiar ways to find comfort and ease may not be available to us now. And what has been revealed to us about ourselves and others may be both troubling and inspiring. It is especially in these moments where we have the opportunity to find the tenderness that we already have: that soft, unguarded place that can awaken loving-kindness toward ourselves and compassion for others.

This talk explores the facets of our own humanness and how the teachings of friendliness toward ourselves and kindness toward others can be both healing and empowering in the midst of uncertainty and difficulty.

 
About the Teacher
 
Acharya Barbara Märtens is trained in cultural pedagogy, Zen-arts and contemplative psychology. She teaches Maitri Space Awareness practice and other contemplative approaches to art, work, and to life in general. Her special emphasis lies in training sense perception and creative expression in individual and group work. She is a Shambhala and Buddhist teacher with more than 20 years of practice. Today she is a member of faculty in Karuna and Upaya, an organization for contemplative psychology, health and art. She has two grown up children and lives in Hamburg, Germany.
 
Registration Options
FREE–Donations gratefully accepted
Patron rate: $20.
(The revenue from this event will go to Dechen Chöling, the European retreat center in Shambhala.)
 
Here is a link to donate directly to DCL: https://www.dechencholing.org/donate/ .
 
*    *    *    *    *

Benevolencia y compasión: medicina del corazón para tiempos difíciles

Con Acharya Barbara Märtens

Sábado 18 de julio
A las 19:00 (Reino Unido) / 20:00 (Hora de Europa Central)

América: 11:00 (Hora del Pacífico) / 12:00/mediodía (Hora de la montaña) / 13:00 (Hora central) / 14:00 (Hora del este) / 15:00 (Hora atlántica)

Ofrecida por Shambhala Región Ibérica

La charla será en inglés con interpretación simultánea al español y posiblemente a más idiomas.

SE OFRECE GRATUITAMENTE: agradecemos la aportación de cualquier donativo.
(Nota: el importe recaudado irá íntegramente destinado a Dechen Chöling, el centro europeo de retiros de Shambhala).
Puedes usar este enlace para donar directamente a DCL

En los últimos meses, nuestro mundo se ha visto sacudido, tanto a nivel social como personal. Igual que la tierra se ara y se remueve en primavera, también nuestro corazón y nuestra mente han sentido el impacto y la agitación debidos a estos tiempos difíciles. Es posible que nuestra manera habitual de buscar consuelo y alivio no se encuentre a nuestro alcance ahora. Y que lo que hemos descubierto sobre nosotros y sobre los demás sea a la vez preocupante e inspirador. Precisamente en estos momentos es cuando tenemos la oportunidad de encontrar esa ternura que ya poseemos: ese punto suave y expuesto que puede despertar la benevolencia hacia nosotros y la compasión hacia los demás.

Esta charla explora las diferentes caras de nuestra propia humanidad y cómo las enseñanzas de la amistad hacia nosotros y amabilidad hacia los demás pueden ser al mismo tiempo sanadoras y empoderadoras en medio de la incertidumbre y la dificultad.

>>> See the event details and register here >>>