Event: Shambhala Online Book of the Month / January

>>> See the event details and register here >>>

 

Welcome to this new initiative offered by Shambhala Online!

The Shambhala Online Book of the Month is an opportunity to learn about the recently published books from our many wonderful Shambhala authors and get to know them a little!

Each author will present the book’s main teaching and share what inspired them to write about it. Their presentation will be followed by a Q&A where you will be able to engage them and explore their past, current and future offerings.
…………………………………………………………………………..

Featured Book for January

When Bad Lands: How not to numb out, freak out, or bottom out–Buddhist Style

by Alan Anderson

 

Change sometimes wells up from within and we enter gracefully. At other times, it is utterly choiceless as the past, present and future get burned up in the most unforgiving flames.

For some, the spiritual path provides support for this change; but for others it smothers new possibilities. That’s because the paths of mindfulness and meditation don’t necessarily uncover what we most need to change.

When Bad Lands” reveals a deeper journey—one that helps us overcome self-deception and other challenges with humility, clarity and humor. 

 

 

About the Author

Alan Anderson was born in Milwaukee, WI, and began his career as a musician, playing jazz professionally for 20 years, as well as touring and recording with Paul Cebar. He then turned his sights towards education, teaching music in Milwaukee Public Schools.

He currently teaches a blend of mindfulness and music in the schools, and is the founder of A.MAP—Arts and Mindfulness for Academic Progress. He teaches this program through Reset-MindBody and [email protected].

He has been a student and instructor in the Shambhala tradition for over 30 years, and is the co-founder of Windhorse Retreat Center.

 

…………………………………………….

Join live or watch later!

 

The live session is scheduled for Wednesday, January 15 at 8:00 pm (Atlantic)

4:00pm (Pacific) / 5:00 pm (Mountain) / 6:00 pm (Central) / 7:00 pm (Eastern) / 8:00 pm (Atlantic)

 

Fee: $5 Individual / Patron $10 / Center $20 / Group $15

 

Please register (log in below) so we can send you:

– A link to participate in the live event

– Access to view the archived video after the live event concludes

Questions? Write to [email protected].

 

To view the full schedule of our Shambhala Online Book of the Month offerings, please click here.

>>> See the event details and register here >>>